We are all one, in the sun.

Following up the last compilation Arborea curated, Leaves of Life, Buck Curran has curated another compilation album called We are All One, In the Sun. This album is a tribute to the late Robbie Basho, American guitarist, musician, composer, and one of the early pioneers of the acoustic steel string guitar in the US.

From the album's info page at Important Records:
"We are All One, In the Sun: a Tribute to Robbie Basho, represents a humble tribute to this truly original and passionate American guitarist, musician and composer.This labor of love curated and realized by musician, producer, and acoustic guitar maker Buck Curran (along with his wife Shanti performs as the duo Arborea) who after first hearing Basho, many moons ago, instantaneously felt Kindred Spirit to his music. This tribute (a collection of both original compositions and new interpretations of Basho songs) befittingly begins and ends with German guitarist and painter Steffen Basho Junghans, who has devoted almost 20 years to composing guitar music in the spirit of Robbie Basho, and who's own compositions reflect a spiraling poetic universe like Basho's, creations of majestic musical vistas"

Also appearing on the album are Arborea themselves, Glenn Jones, Fern Knight, Meg Baird, Helena Espvall, Cian Nugent, and Rahim AlHaj. The digital version of the album will include bonus tracks from Joseba Irazoki and Israeli Yair Yona, and young and promising English guitarist Cam Deaz.

"Robbie Basho was a true American Original, a free thinking passionate intellectual and a musical pioneer whose body of works deserves the kind of recognition and glorious platform that will enable generations of young musicians from around the world to draw inspiration from. We are All One, In the Sun represents the first of hopefully many tributes and works inspired by the life and music of Robbie Basho. In Basho's own words "Don't be afraid to feel anything" and his credo "Soul first, technique later." We arrive at simple Zen like mantras by which all of us can live."

The album is due to be released on May 11, 2010. Visiting the album's page will offer more information, a track listing, as well as audio samples of some of the tracks.

No comments: